Exhibitions

Beinaschi and Rubens invite Yan Pei-Ming

Un jour parfait / A perfect day

15 Juin 2012 - 19 Septembre 2012


The artist, Yan Pei-Ming, invited to present his work in the chapelle de l’Oratoire, has chosen to emphasise the museum’s remarkable collection of baroque paintings.

Born in Shanghai in 1960, Yan Pei-Ming moved to Dijon in 1980, where he attended the School of Fine Arts. Famous for his Mao portraits, characterized by large formats painted in grisaille, the artist is known for a gestural painting, expressing passionately the features of its models.
During his residency at the Villa Médicis in 1993, he created a monumental piece of art, inspired by a Chinese tale, The 108 Outlaws, depicting the people around him in Rome and all of those who came by to visit him. In this way, he mixed up, with talent, the past and the present.

For his exhibition in Nantes, Ming will finally bring an old project to life. Indeed, even if he is not familiar with Christian culture because of his origins, he has been exposed to it frequently since his arrival in France. Thus, he was hoping to find a suitable place to carry out his large self-portraits which express an attitude of meditation. The chapelle de l’Oratoire is exactly the sort of place that can accommodate such paintings. Confronting the museum’s Italian and Flemish masterpieces, Ming continues his analysis of occidental heritage, which he begun at the Louvre where he took La Joconde  as a subject, while conceiving and developing the landscape in which Leonardo da Vinci placed his model.

From June 15th to September 16th, from Tuesday to Sunday, from 10 am to 7 pm (except Monday). Then, from Monday to Sunday (except Tuesday), from 10 am to 6 pm.

Yan Pei Ming Yan Pei Ming
1 2 3 4 >

Expositions

Beinaschi et Rubens invitent Yan Pei-Ming

Un jour parfait

15 Juin 2012 - 19 Septembre 2012


L’artiste Yan Pei-Ming, invité à présenter son travail dans la chapelle de l’Oratoire, a choisi de faire écho à la collection remarquable de peinture baroque du musée.

Né à Shanghai en 1960, Yan Pei-Ming arrive à Dijon en 1980 où il intègre l’école des beaux-arts. Rendu célèbre par ses portraits de Mao traités en grisaille sur de grands formats, l’artiste pratique une peinture très gestuelle, traduisant avec fougue les traits de ses modèles.
Pensionnaire à la Villa Médicis en 1993, il va alors réaliser une œuvre monumentale, s’inspirant d’un conte chinois, Les 108 brigands, en portraiturant toutes les personnes qui forment son entourage à Rome et ceux qui viennent lui rendre visite. C’est ainsi qu’il mêle avec talent l’histoire et l’actualité.
Pour l’exposition nantaise, Ming va enfin réaliser un vieux projet. En effet, si sa culture d’origine ne l’a pas familiarisé avec la culture chrétienne, il l’a, depuis son arrivée en France, très souvent croisée. Aussi, attendait-il un lieu approprié pour réaliser de grands autoportraits dans une pose de méditation. La chapelle de l’Oratoire est le lieu qui peut accueillir de telles peintures. En les mettant en regard avec de chefs d’œuvre de la peinture italienne et flamande, Ming poursuit son travail d’analyse du patrimoine occidental qu’il a initié au musée du Louvre en prenant pour sujet La Joconde, et en imaginant et développant le paysage dans lequel Léonard de Vinci a placé son modèle.
 
Du 15 Juin au 19 Août, du mardi au dimanche, de 10h à 19h (fermé le lundi). Puis du 20 Août au 19 Septembre, du lundi au dimanche (sauf le mardi), de 10h à 18h.

Le catalogue Ming est désormais disponible à la chapelle de l'Oratoire (Editions Fage - 20€)

Yan Pei Ming Yan Pei Ming
1 2 3 4 >